Rhubarb Compote

I am post dating this post to Tuesday to correlate to the day that I actually served this farm share treat.  On Tuesday NYC was in the high 90s and felt like a 100 in the humidity.  My darling friend Heather was kind enough to invite me to join her family’s summer getaway on the coast of Connecticut.  The night before I made a rhubarb compote to bring with me on the train.  I also brought some vanilla bean coconut milk ice cream (which I bought – didn’t make on my own) to serve with the rhubarb compote.

Making the compote was pretty easy – basically I boiled water and lemon juice.  Then added sugar and chopped up a bunch of rhubarb.  I boiled it for a while and it tasted great but the consistency was really watery.  My husband suggested that I simmer it for a while, which I did and it thickened a bit, but not enough.  So I ended up adding some tapioca powder (made into a slurry first).  It blended well and I got the “sauce” consistency that I wanted.

It was a great way to use up a bunch of rhubarb and was a nice refreshing treat after a hot sunny day on the beach!

Thanks to my dear friend Heather for taking the photo! Rhubarb compote over coconut milk ice cream – yum!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment