Tempeh Veggie Paties with Garlic Kale

I’m back!  I have been long absent from this blog – life has been very busy with work, etc.  I knew that once work started it would be hard to keep up the cooking and blogging pace – and I turned out to be right.  Anyway, this does not mean that we haven’t been cooking – so I will try to catch up with this blog.  Here I will post about a dinner I made last night 11/17/12 and I will back date this to reflect the actual date the dinner was made.

In my attempt to find alternate protein sources I decided to try a new tempeh dish.  There is a vegan slow cooker recipe book that I like – The Vegan Slow Cooker by Kathy Hester.  As this is a cookbook and not a recipe posted online, then I won’t fully recreate the recipe here but if anyone is interested I link to the recipe here:  Holiday Tempeh and Sage Loaf.  I actually didn’t make this in a slow cooker – I made the recipe into patties that I covered in bread crumbs and baked.  It was good – a little dry perhaps.  Would have been great with herb gravy.  Maybe next time? I also added a bunch of Japanese turnips because I had them from farm share.  The turnip was a good fall-y addition.  I also made fresh curly kale with garlic and tamari.

Stephan’s review: “My baby Helene can sure cook some kale.  It was perfectly cooked with a lovely garlicky-ness.  The patties were wonderful – a really balanced flavor and nice texture.  The sage came through but didn’t dominate and the mix of tempeh, turnip, and other veggies added up to something better than the sum of its parts.”

From the box:

  • kale
  • Japanese turnips
  • rosemary

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Tempeh Veggie Paties with Garlic Kale

  1. Looks and sounds delicious! I’ve been on a big tempeh kick lately.

Leave a comment